The Angel who was blessed !!!

Alright , this entry is not my writing at all.. This is a friend of mine who went around being an angel just before XMas.. BTW i was the guy who called her 🙂

It was one of those usually lazy Sunday mornings when a friend’s phone call woke me up. “Will you become angel today?” he asked.“What?” I was surprised and startled.

“I mean that we are going to visit various shelter homes and celebrate Christmas with the kids. We are planning to take Santa Claus and angels with us and you can play one of the angels if you wish….”

Five minutes later, I was getting ready for the day and within an hour I was at the place where all of us were supposed to meet. I changed into the fairy’s attire and felt great about myself. I was looking ahead to a fun-filled Sunday and this was going to be wonderful, I was thinking, happily getting my snaps taken by the team members.

It was not until we reached the first shelter home that the mist started clearing……  This was not fun, this was for some purpose. I was going through one of the most memorable days of my life, a day which had the capability to influence my thinking forever; a day in a life, or a life in a day!

We went to six different places, and all of them gave me the same message: look out of your own troubles and see that others have problems too; problems quite graver than your own, problems which make you feel as if you are insulting your own life by calling it boring, and by not recognizing how beautiful it is.

I was visiting them to make them feel better and connected with mainstream of life, and I hope I succeeded in that purpose to quite an extent. But moreover I learned to look at life with a new perspective. My hitherto life full of complaints about my own looks, my status, my friends, my boring routine and all the things around me, suddenly seemed to be full of blessings. I counted my blessings and lost the count after a while.

But this was not the end, as more striking revelations kept coming my way the whole day. What good was I doing to the community with all my blessings? I have been endowed with these not just for spending a cheerful and colourful butterfly of a life, but I have the power and the capability to give something back to it, as a token of gratitude, as a symbol of compassion.

However all the places we visited that day were melancholic, two of them moved my heart the most. One was the Juvenile home, where children in conflict with the law are kept. The gloomy faces of the inmates were already hurting me. To add to that, one of them, a lad of 13-14 years was shedding tears silently. I don’t know what was there in his tears but it was a painful sight. The other one was an orphanage, where one of the residents came close to me despite of my awe-inspiring angel’s get-up, asked my name and hugged me warmly with so much of affection that I felt poor in front of him. I blessed him with my angel’s wand, but deep within me, I knew he blessed me.

By the evening I was tired but felt that it was a day well lived. I promised myself two things: First, I will respect my life, will be thankful for all that I have and will not complain about the small shortfalls as they are there to enrich our lives and spice it up; Second, I will regard all the fellow human beings with honour, love and dignity. It’s not something that I will give them because I am so great, it’s because it’s my duty and their right and they deserve it.

At the end of the day, all I had was a smile on my lips and tears in my eyes, and yes, lots of blessings too!!

Recently I came through these lines by Mother Teresa:
“At the end of life we will not be judged by how many diplomas we have received, how much money we have made, how many great things we have done.
We will be judged by ‘I was hungry and you gave me to eat, I was naked and you clothed me, I was homeless and you took me in.’
Hungry not only for bread — but hungry for love. Naked not only for clothing — but naked for human dignity and respect. Homeless not only for want of a room of bricks. but homeless because of rejection”.

…very true indeed!

About TitoV

The author of this blog doesnt look the part of the kind of guy who would generate the stuff in the posts. Well, looks can be deceptive.

Posted on January 11, 2008, in Life, picked up along the way. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. thats nice…

Leave a Reply

